Climate Summit 2022

Andover held its first Climate Summit in the spring of 2022 at the Old Town Hall on April 8th and 9th. Policymakers, businesses, municipal and youth leaders from the Town and neighboring communities came together to share their vision and progress on climate change through moderated panels. On the second day, the Andover community outlined the challenges and opportunities to reducing carbon emissions and in becoming resilient to climate impacts, all while addressing social justice and equity. These community dialogues are the first among many critical inputs for the Town's first Climate Action and Sustainability Plan.

Recordings and Presentations from Friday, April 8th Climate Summit Plenary Session

  • Climate Summit Plenary Video recording available at
  • Final Program Brochure
  • Keynote featuring Dr. Sarah Dooling, Massachusetts Climate Action Network (MCAN)
  • Intergovernmental Panel featuring Chris Huntress of Andover Select Board, State Senator Barry Finegold, and State Representative Tram Nguyen (no slides)
  • Building Innovation Panel featuring David Chamberlain of Raytheon Technologies, Louis Minicucci Jr. of MINCO, and Allison Guerette of Phillips Academy
  • Municipal Resilience Panel featuring Steve Sadwick of Town of Tewksbury, Milagros Puello of the City of Lawrence, Bob Douglas of Town of Andover, and Cheri Cousens of Greater Lawrence Sanitary District
  • Youth Leadership Forum and Joint Statement on Climate featuring students leaders from Andover High School, Phillips Academy, Pike School, and Abbott Lawrence Academy

Presentations from Saturday, April 9th Climate Summit Workshop Session

Youth Art Contest

To help with broader public outreach on climate change, and to give a unique platform for the young artists of the Merrimack Valley to share their perspectives, a Youth Art Contest was held in the days leading up to the event. Winners of the Art Contest are recognized below:

Co-Winners of the Climate Change Vision Art Category:

  • Sean Kim, Pike School
  • Erin Kim, Phillips Academy
  • Sadie Rooney, Andover High School

Winner of the Personal Action Art Category

  • Erin Rasmussen, St. Marks School

Winner of the No One Left Behind Art Category:

  • Andover Animal Advocates (Diya Ganesh, Sriniketh Velagapudi, Mahathi Veluri,  Julia Strong, Abhinav Bapanapalli, Randy Tran, Shreya Godhani) from various schools

Climate Summit Partners

MVP_Logo_VerticalGreen Communities Logo

Andover High School LogoAndover Green Advisory Board Logo

Working to Educate on Climate Action Now Logo